An Engaging New Scotland Yard Mystery


Title: Murder in Thrall An Acton and Doyle Scotland Yard Mystery
Author: Anne Cleeland
Genre: Mystery
Published By: Kensington Books (July 30, 2013
Pages: 289
ASIN: B00BPYCOWI

About the Author: With a degree in English and law, Anne Cleeland writes historical fiction with settings in the Regency period and contemporary mystery series set in New Scotland Yard.  Murder in Thrall is the first of a new series for her.  She has authored two other books: Tainted Angels and Daughter of the God-King, both published in 2013.

About the Story: Two of Scotland Yard’s detectives, Chief Inspector Acton and Detective Constable Kathleen Doyle have been working together for three months solving any crime easily.  Doyle, an Irish girl of impoverished background is taken under Acton’s wing for more reasons than are at first apparent.  She has a unique ability in reading the truth behind words.  She can easily tell when someone is not telling the truth.  Acton is a British lord and is known for his uncanny ability to solve high-profile homicides.  Between the two of them they are an excellent team.

Acton is physically drawn to Doyle and is unable to keep the relationship on a professional level.  Doyle, who self-educates herself by learning new vocabulary words is trying to understand why he wants to move the relationship to a new level.  He could have any woman he desired.

A particular series of murders takes place, first a racehorse trainer gets murdered and shortly follows his girlfriend and other murders continue.  Acton and Doyle work to solve the crimes.  Are they done by the same murderer?  What is the motive of the crimes?

My Thoughts:  The blossoming relationship between Acton and Doyle was very appealing and strange, which only made me, as a reader, need to keep on reading.  The reader isn’t always privy to every detail when it happens which only makes the mystery more exciting.

I loved the simplicity and directness of Doyle.  She is a pleasure to get to know.  I don’t want to write any spoilers, because I don’t want to spoil the story for you.  I can say that it was highly entertaining, well-written and well-paced, with good character development.  Close to the end of the book, you simply cannot put it down.  So make sure that you plan on losing sleep or start the ending early on in the evening.  I look eagerly forward to the next book in her series.

About eileendandashi

I am a lover of books, both reading and writing. My mission is to encourage people to see the treasures that lie between the pages. I enjoy conversing with authors, fellow bloggers who have anything to do with books and have a particular thrill seeing writers newly published.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to An Engaging New Scotland Yard Mystery

  1. I loved this book! I’m so glad to know you enjoyed it, too.

    • I can’t wait until Anne writes another one. I have her Daughter of the God-King sitting on my desk. I’m trying to figure out how I’m going to fit it in with all the reading I have right now.

      • Have you read Tainted Angel? It was her first Regency; Daughter of the God-King is the second. Both are excellent reads. I’m really looking forward to the second in the Acton/Doyle series — it comes out in July.

        BTW, thanks so much for reviewing the stories in A Scandalous Regency Christmas. I’m glad you enjoyed them.

      • That was the first book that I’ve read from Anne. She lives a stone’s throw from me — 1 1/2 hours by car. I’m very familiar with her area. But not her books! I’ve got quite a while to wait for her next book, if it is in July. I know I’ll be able to read her Daughter of the God-King within the next couple of months.

        Any time you’d like me to review any of your other books, or stop by for an interview, etc. on my blog, just let me know. It is my pleasure.

      • Thanks, Eileen. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Cryptoquote Spoiler – 01/22/14 | Unclerave's Wordy Weblog

Leave a Reply

