The old adage don’t judge a book by its cover, should be: Don’t judge a book by its cover nor title.


I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. I chose this book for three reasons, its cover, title and author. Its title Night’s Promise – that tipped me off. Oh, good, another historical romance.

I got part of it right. True, the author was unknown to me, but the book was not historical romance! It was about vampires and werewolves. Now, I’m not an avid reader of anything to do with vampires. But I have read some very good series, The Twilight Saga Series by Stephanie Meyer; P.C. and Kristine Cast, their series House of Night Novels; and my most beloved Christine Feehan’s Dark Series. You couldn’t call me a fan of everything to do with vampires. There is something about how each of these writers write, captivate and pull the reader into a make-believe, yet unbelievably real. Why would I want to read more vampire stories if none will captivate me as these authors? I was in for a shocker. I loved Amanda Ashley’s work. Night’s Promise is book 6 in her Children of the Night Series. As I read, it gave me the best of feelings about vampires. They’re supposed to be mean, evil, twisted beings. Like my other favorite vampire writing authors, she drew me in and enveloped me by creating wonderful characters with very real concerns about the direction their lives were going. Without a doubt, I enjoyed and delighted in Ashley Amanda’s world of vampires, hunters and werewolves.

Title: Night’s Promise (Children of the Night Series), Book 6cover39922-medium
Author: Amanda Ashley
Genre: Paranormal Romance, New Adult
Published by: Zebra Books (February 4, 2014)
Pages: 352
ASIN: B00ENMXSOQ

Ashley should be on your must-buy list.” —RT Book Reviews
“A master of her craft.” —Maggie Shayne
“Amanda Ashley is a master storyteller.” —Christine Feehan

This is what Amanda Ashley says about herself on her author page on Amazon: “I write paranormal romances for Zebra Books, and I love it. Most of my books are about vampires because, I admit, I’m fascinated by them. I also admit I don’t like most vampire movies. I’m not really into blood and gore in living color on the screen, although I do love the movie, Dracula, starring Frank Langella. I just close my eyes from time to time.”

“I also write historical romances as Madeline Baker.”

Children of the Night Series:
Night’s Kiss, Night’s Touch, Night’s Master, Night’s Pleasure, Night’s Mistress, Night’s Promise

About the Story: For beautiful heiress Sheree West, vampires are more than a fantasy. They are an obsession. Night after night, she dresses in black and immerses herself in L.A.’s Goth club scene. Searching for a lover who is more than a man. A creature of the dark who lusts for her blood. A legend who lives in the shadows and not just her dreams. Then, one fateful night, she meets him. . .

Derek Blackwood is no ordinary vampire. Descended from a bloodline as old as Cleopatra, and blessed with unearthly powers of seduction, he is everything Sheree wished for–and more. When he takes her in his arms, she is powerless. When he kisses her neck, she is his. But when the full moon rises–and passions flare–something is unleashed in Derek that he’s never felt before. Something wild. Something dangerous. Something no vampire can control or stop. . .even for the woman he loves. (official blurb)

About eileendandashi

I am a lover of books, both reading and writing. My mission is to encourage people to see the treasures that lie between the pages. I enjoy conversing with authors, fellow bloggers who have anything to do with books and have a particular thrill seeing writers newly published.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The old adage don’t judge a book by its cover, should be: Don’t judge a book by its cover nor title.

  1. Harliqueen says:

    Sometimes it’s good to be surprised by a book you think was about something, but is actually completely something different 😀

Leave a Reply

