Delilah Marvelle Releases NIGHT OF PLEASURE From Her School of Gallantry Series


Title: Night of Pleasure, Book 4 (A School of Gallantry Novel)cover44180-medium
Author: Delilah Marvelle
Genre: Historical Romance
Story Setting: London, England 1823
Published By: Delilah Marvelle Productions, LLC (March 15, 2014)
Pages: 246
ASIN: B00J1RDHN0

THE SCHOOL OF GALLANTRY SERIES:

Book 1, Mistress of Pleasure
Book 2, Lord of Pleasure
Book 3, Lady of Pleasure
Book 3.5, Romancing Lady Stone
Book 4, Night of Pleasure
Book 5, Master of Pleasure

About the Story: At seventeen Derek Holbrook loses his father. Moments before his father passes away he meets his wife-to-be unbeknownst to him. With her comes a fortune to take care of the estate. She’s a beautiful, self-controlled, naïve young girl of fourteen. Derek is drawn to her like a bee to honey and immediately tries to take advantage. Clementine is overwhelmed by Derek’s advances and put off. Yet when Derek learns his father was dying she consoled and embraced him knowing he was devastated by his death.

Weeks later she and her father left London and for the next seven years they corresponded. In that time Derek grew up as did she. He learned to manage the estate and struggled with keeping a firm hand on his younger brother. He became a man of good character. Through the correspondence with Clementine he survived the loneliness and lived for her return.

So when Clementine arrived with her father to his estate, very cool and reserved, he couldn’t understand. Was this the young woman he’d been writing to? He was so in need of touching her, so overwhelmed with desire for her that she was repulsed by his need and the way he made her feel. She didn’t want emotion. It only led to bad things happening. She told Derek they couldn’t marry even though it was only six days before the wedding. Derek loved her and knew if she didn’t want him then it was useless to marry. But what would he do with over 300 guests invited to the wedding?

Review: Here is a story about two very young people. They are only three years apart and have lived completely different lives. Clementine, honest to a fault, has learned through moving from place to place with her father she must be strong and protect herself against men. She’s also learned through her life experiences that it’s better to stay in control. She usually is self-controlled, soft-spoken and doesn’t want to have anything to do with passion. In her opinion emotions are bad feelings because they lead to violence.

It was interesting and gratifying to see Clementine grow and develop her ideas and her talents. She learned to accept her own feelings and not feel intimidated by Derek’s.

Derek also learned how to see Clementine as a person, a friend before seeing her as his wife.

Both characters were very appealing with their naiveté, their spirit and determination to make marriage work even though there appeared too large obstacles to surmount. I enjoyed seeing Derek as a free-spirited, determined, honest individual who could accept differences in people and accept those differences readily. I hope there were more Derek’s during that period with such broad minds.

Delilah Marvelle delighted me with her story. The plot engaged, satisfied and intrigued me throughout. I like that she showed us how important friendship is in a marriage and how to learn to trust.

Delilah MarvelleIn the Author’s Words: Bio data at GoodReads
“I spent my youth studying various languages, reading voraciously, and playing the pianoforte. I confess that here ends the extent of my gentle breeding. I was a naughty child who was forever torturing her parents with countless adventures that they did not deem respectable. Confined to my room on many occasions due to these misadventures, I soon discovered the quill and its amazing power. I scribed endless stories that almost invariably surrounded the topic of love, for I felt an inane need to be rescued from a family that did not understand my lust for life. In my mind, King Arthur became my true love and I waited for the day when he would come riding upon his steed and invite me to sit at his round table, not as his queen, but as his knight. To my distress, King Arthur was never to be found anywhere except for in the tip of my quill. And so I led an imaginary life for many, many years. When I finally came of age, my family was further horrified to discover that I had fallen in love with an American. An American King Arthur who became my knight, my husband, my all. I have been blessed beyond reason and am grateful for each day I have with him. What is equally amazing is that I now have the opportunity to share my passion for stories with the public. The reason why I write romance is because it allows me to touch upon the subject of love on a much deeper, more intimate level. Many of the stories I write, many of the stories I will continue to write, will always evolve around love. And yes, gentle readers, it will also evolve around sex as I have no intention of becoming my parents and restraining my characters from what it is they truly desire to do. I challenge you, my readers, to let loose of those corsets that have been strung too tightly due to convention and enjoy 1830 to its fullest.”

For some fun facts about Delilah, check out this link to her website.
http://www.delilahmarvelle.com/#!meet-delilah/cte7

About eileendandashi

I am a lover of books, both reading and writing. My mission is to encourage people to see the treasures that lie between the pages. I enjoy conversing with authors, fellow bloggers who have anything to do with books and have a particular thrill seeing writers newly published.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Delilah Marvelle Releases NIGHT OF PLEASURE From Her School of Gallantry Series

  1. carolcork says:

    I love anything Delilah writes but her School of Gallantry series is one of my favourites.

Leave a Reply

