Sarah Ballance: 13 Shocking Reasons People were Actually Committed to Lunatic Asylums


This a reblog of a reblog. It’s the first time I’ve seen it. It’s also a new author to me, published with Entangled Publishing. I love ghost stories and paranormal and historical romance, so it should be right up my ally. Thought you might like to hear about her, too.

Sarah Ballance

If you think you’ve seen this before, you may be right. This was widely distributed as part of my RUBY HILL release tour with Entangled Publishing and Bewitching Book Tours. But this is so crazy, I totally recommend you just read it again. 🙂

13 Shocking Reasons Real People were Committed to Lunatic Asylums

If you thought you had to get your crazy on to land in a place like Ruby Hill, you’d better think again. The following list of reasons folks were locked up for “treatment” between 1864 and 1889 at the RUBY HILL-esque yet very real Trans-Alleghany Lunatic Asylum is absolutely true. (My commentary, however, may be prone to exaggeration.)

  1. Bad Whiskey – I don’t know if this guy drank bad whiskey, sold bad whiskey, or manufactured bad whiskey, but you’ve got to feel for anyone forced to sober up a lunatic asylum. I’m pretty sure that type…

View original post 986 more words

About eileendandashi

I am a lover of books, both reading and writing. My mission is to encourage people to see the treasures that lie between the pages. I enjoy conversing with authors, fellow bloggers who have anything to do with books and have a particular thrill seeing writers newly published.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sarah Ballance: 13 Shocking Reasons People were Actually Committed to Lunatic Asylums

  1. Barbara Monajem says:

    This is such a fun blog, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

