How hard is it to believe in second chances? Recently released book ME TARZAN YOU JANE by Camelia Miron Skiba


91eZzy2nRQL._SL1500_Title: Me Tarzan You Jane
Author:
Camelia Miron Skiba
Genre: Contemporary Fiction, Romance
Published Date: December 6, 2014
Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
Pages: 270
ASIN: B00OPFMTDW

Synopsis: Moving on doesn’t always have to mean goodbye. Widowed makeup artist Jane Sullivan is more comfortable keeping her husband’s memory alive than dating a pool full of sharks. Ella, her 4 year-old daughter, is her whole world.

When Jane meets Lucas Oliver, famous cover model, it’s hate at first sight. His playboy persona rubs her the wrong way.

Accustomed to every woman fawning over him, Lucas is drawn to the shy, uncompromising single mom and completely melts at the sight of Ella. He is determined to convince Jane that sometimes a second chance can mend a broken heart.

My Thoughts: I didn’t know what to expect from this book. I didn’t know the author and I don’t gravitate toward contemporary romance, but will indulge from time to time. I didn’t want to read something too silly.

When I realized it was about a writer who had never been published, that intrigued me. In the first chapter I’m involved in a conference, and yes, since this was written in first person, I was the heroine, Jane Sullivan. She has some of my characteristics – she’s shy, a prude, and stubborn.   I slipped right into her shoes and had the time of my life!

At the conference there were all these models circling around, handsome guys, who take your breath away and who grace published author’s covers. There was one, Lucas Oliver, who strutted around with all his testosterone, the ladies at the conference literally drooling over him and dying to have their picture taken with him. But me, why would I do that? Those kind of guys are so shallow. So true to my character, I rolled my eyes. At that minute, Adonis (Lucas Oliver) looks up and catches my eye. We have an exchange that night of sorts. Now I’ve a side of me that when angered, the smoke just puffs out my ears. That night Lucas made me so made I just blew. These are my words.

“Okay. That’s it.” I take a step closer and poke at his chest. My finger will be sore tomorrow from the wall of muscles I hit. “I’ve no clue who you are nor do I care to know. I had a wonderful night surrounded by wonderful people, and you’re not one of them. Move, now. You’re invading my personal space.”

I’m complicated, there’s no doubt. I loved my first husband and continue to have him near me because of little Ella, my four-year old daughter. No one can replace Evan. So I build walls around myself, preventing others from knowing me and to be indifferent. And I believe firmly, that we don’t have second chances on love.

But in this story Lucas Oliver was more than he appeared to be. Jane had jumped to many conclusions only later realizing what mistakes she made. She has more encounters with Lucas at the conference and none of them good.

Madame V uses Jane’s skill with makeup a couple of times a week in California, but has requested Jane to go to Paris with her for a couple of weeks for some work that needs her makeup skills. It’s around the holiday. Jane can’t refuse and who would? She’d love to go. But things get a little anxious for her when who should pick her up from the airport in Paris, but Lucas Oliver. Was that guy Madame V’s lover? Another eye-roll.

This was a very entertaining story, funny at times. Jane has some nice writer’s perspectives on life. Lucas was a funny guy and liked to prod Jane from her prudishness. I did shed some tears along the way. Lucas has a story of his own, he cares not to share; Jane with bad thoughts about Lucas and very irritated with how she felt around him; Ella being adorable, trusting innocently. So many misconceptions, and so much hurt between Lucas and Jane. Watching Jane and Lucas grow as individuals and learning how to finally trust was soul-satisfying. A happy ever after that left me smiling. I unabashedly recommend this read.

th (7)About the Author:
I’m a dreamer
I’m a sinner
I love my books
I conjure hooks
And heroes with good looks

Romance is my guilty pleasure
Taking me to places with new decor
Come join me if you dare
I promise not to bore

If you like to read my stories
Pray my husband continues snorin’
For he’s the one who keeps me up at night
When I give my heroes wings and flight.

About eileendandashi

I am a lover of books, both reading and writing. My mission is to encourage people to see the treasures that lie between the pages. I enjoy conversing with authors, fellow bloggers who have anything to do with books and have a particular thrill seeing writers newly published.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, New Book Release, Romance, Women's Fiction and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

