Audiobook Review: LAIDEN’S DAUGHTER by Suzan Tisdale, book 1 of The Clan MacDougall Series


Our heroine learns a verra’ valuable lesson. For some family no matter how good you are it isn’t good enough. Don’t measure your self-worth by these people.

Laiden's DaughterTitle: Laiden’s Daughter. Book 1 of The Clan MacDougall Series
Author: Suzan Tisdale
Genre: Historical Romance, Medieval
Story Setting: Prologue: 1329, Northern England; 1343, Northern England; Scotland Pages: 255
Published By: Suzan Tisdale; 1 edition
Published Date: December 5, 2013
ASIN:  B006JUNXXG

Narrated By: Erin Jones
Listening Length: 12 hours, 28 minutes
Publisher: Suzan Tisdale
Release Date: March 10, 2014
ASIN: B00IX3HFR2

The Clan MacDougall Series:
Laiden’s Daughter, book 1
Findley’s Lass,
book 2
Wee William’s Woman,
book 3
Mckenna’s Honor,
book 4

Publisher’s Summary: Scotland, 1344.

She believes men are not honorable nor are they kind–until she meets one that changes her heart forever.

Betrayed by lies told before her birth, Aishlinn is raised by a harsh and cruel stepfather. Her life is forever changed one horrifying night when she is forced to flee England for the safety of the Scottish Highlands. Rescued by a fierce band of highland warriors, Aishlinn soon learns that honorable men do exist. She finds a strength she never knew she possessed and it will be tested to the limits when she is forced to make a heart-wrenching decision…allow the English to kill those she loves, or surrender for the crime she committed.

She is everything he never knew he wanted in a woman…

As a fierce highland warrior, Duncan McEwan has survived numerous battles, bed countless women, and survived a horrific storm at sea. He has scaled mountains and even survived hand-to-claw battle with a cat-o’mountain. But none of that could have prepared him for how his life forever changed one fateful spring day when he rescued a lass from a freezing stream. He will do anything to keep her as his own and will risk everything to keep her out of the hands of the English.

©2011 Suzan Tisdale (P)2014 Suzan Tisdale

My Thoughts: Whenever a story thrusts the reader into action and panic, it sets the stage for more of the same to come. Immediately, the devil is before you and the heroine must be saved!

As Ms. Tisdale does in her tales, she gives us a devil of a man to hate, this one very nearly took Ashlinn’s life along with her innocence. Finding strength where she knew not, she lighted upon his dagger nearby and drove it into his back.

Ashlinn following the directions and help of old Baltair, a man who had worked for the Earl of Penrith for many years and knew how he treated young women, escaped from Castle Firth. He provided her the means to save herself from being caught for the worst offense one could do – take the life of another.

Battered and driven she rode north to Scotland. When she heard men’s voices she panicked. Afraid she was still in England she raced her horse over rocky terrain, her mount reared and she was thrown into a stream and knocked unconscious. Duncan McEwan was part of the band of men and saw her fall. He rode to her, scooped her up in his arms, saving her life – that is if her other injuries from the beating of the Earl wouldn’t kill her.

Ashlinn was a young woman who had been told all her life she was worthless and ugly. Her past is only abuse and taunting by her brothers. Her biggest challenge is believing in what she is capable of, to understand she can be loved for who she is.

Aishlinn and Duncan were meticulously drawn in exquisite detail and further made real by Erin Jones’s lovely narration. Her voice was an excellent choice to tell this story. She captured each character’s raw emotion most appropriately. Her sentence cadence and pacing pulled me forward into the highlands right along with Aishlinn. This is the first time I’ve heard this narrator and I would enjoy listening to her in other historical romances. Her male voices were quite male, easily recognized and accents seemingly authentic.

A suspenseful story with its plot of intrigue, twists and surprises, I enjoyed it very much – a sigh-worthy highlander love story. If you haven’t added Suzan Tisdale to your highlander reads, please do. She’s quickly becoming one of my favorite reads.

Suzan TisdaleAbout the Author:  Suzan lives in the Midwest with her verra handsome carpenter husband and the youngest of their four children. Monetary donations are currently being accepted to help feed their 17-year-old, 6’3″, built-like-a-linebacker son and keep him in shoes.

Some people say she is obsessed with writing. Suzan prefers to think of it as a passion. While there is great joy in writing, the biggest joy comes in sharing what you’ve written with the world. So she writes passionately and shares her work joyfully with the intent of bringing smiles to her readers’ faces.

You can visit Suzan at her website: http://www.suzantisdale.com

Follow me on FaceBook at http://www.facebook.com/suzantisdaleromance Twitter@suzantisdale

About the Narrator: Words from Erin Jones

I have been narrating audiobooks for The National Library Service for The Blind and Physically Handicapped under a SAG-AFRTRA negotiated contract, throughout a fun and varied career as an actor, producer, director and educator! I have traveled with National Tours as a member of Acror’s Equity, worked as an actor in Chicago, written and produced original, grant-funded, multi-media performances and street theater. I have taught scene study and improvisation to at-risk youth at YMCA Safe Places in Louisville, (my home), and Chicago as well as at Community Centers and Boys and Girls clubs. My work has been funded by The National Endowment for the Arts, The Southern Arts Federation and The Kentucky Foundation for Women, among others.

I have 15, (soon to be 16), titles on audible having just begun pursuing commercial work in 2014. I am easing into the work as there has been a bit of a learning curve and construction and tweaking of a home studio and still meeting the demands of my work for NLS. In my career with an NLS I have been fortunate to have great, specific contact and feedback from listeners. A highlight I have found in my commercial work so far, is contact and feedback with writers! I LOVE it!

I have had positive experiences working on Laiden’s Daughter by Suzan Tisdale, Hearts in Darkness by Laura Kaye, Through Animals’ Eyes by Lynne Marie Cuny, The Wolf and The Crown by A.A. Attanasio, Bones of an Inland Sea and Women Up On Blocks by Mary Akers, Muckross Folly by J.L. Austgen, Lord of The Sea by Danielle Harmon , and I am just wrapping up The Midnight Madness Trilogy by Parris Afton Bonds after having done two books, Dancing With Wild Woman and Dancing With Crazy Woman, of her Janet Lomayestewa Tracker Series. To all these folks, I say thank you for trusting me with your work! True to form, this initial body of audiobook narrating is varied in style and content. As I continue forging a commercial audiobook career, I realize I may have to narrow my focus. I will say – loud and proud – I think I handle suspense extremely well and if I had to pick a genre in which I would be pegged – that would be it!

As a side note, if I didn’t narrate audiobooks, I would have a farm with goats and horses and grow things. I am an unabashed animal lover. Instead of waiting tables as I clawed my way to professional cred as an actor, I managed a 75 acre horse farm and cared for 14 Appaloosa’s and the fences and the barns for many years. I also did a three-year TV show from The Louisville Zoo where I got to bathe elephants, cuddle wooly monkeys, trim the nails of a kudu, ride a camel and so, so much more!

I am, in life and work, for variety and solid touchstones to keep me grounded!

About eileendandashi

I am a lover of books, both reading and writing. My mission is to encourage people to see the treasures that lie between the pages. I enjoy conversing with authors, fellow bloggers who have anything to do with books and have a particular thrill seeing writers newly published.
This entry was posted in Audiobook, Audiobook Review, Highland Stories, Historical Romance, Medieval Romance, Women's Fiction and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Audiobook Review: LAIDEN’S DAUGHTER by Suzan Tisdale, book 1 of The Clan MacDougall Series

  1. Thank you so much for your kind words, Eileen! xoxoxo

  2. vvaught512 says:

    I have this on my Kindle and Audible, but haven’t read it yet.

    • Vikki, you are so in for a treat. I loved the audio, but if you rather, read the book. Both take you to the land of Suzan Tisdale where no matter what happens or how bad a situation gets, there is always a HEA!

  3. carolcork says:

    I have this on my Kindle but haven’t got around to reading it yet. I think I will have to move it up my TBR pile.

    • This is a four book series and this is book 1 as I know you like to start at the beginning. Have you read any of Suzan Tisdale? She’s right up there with Kathryn Le Veque as far as I’m concerned. Her writing touches different emotions, but no less potent. Hope you enjoy!

  4. carolcork says:

    Eileen, I haven’t read any of Suzan Tisdale’s books yet but your recommendation is good enough for me.

  5. Pingback: Audiobook News & Reviews: 04/22 | ListenUp Audiobooks

Leave a Reply

