Another Delilah Marvelle special! THE CHRISTMAS WAGER (yep, it even requires hand spitting!!)


The Christmas WagerTitle: The Christmas Wager A Happy Christmas Novel
Author: Delilah Marvelle
Genre: Historical Romance, Victorian
Story Setting: 1854, London
Pages: 199
Published by: Delilah Marvelle Productions, LLC
Published Date: December 1, 2015
ASIN: B014U7BQ2Y

About the Story: When all the ladies of London realize that handsome and refined gentleman, the Duke of Ainsley, is formally looking for a wife, only weeks before Christmas, a mad dash to claim him begins. Miss Barrington knows her chances with the duke are incredibly good given what her close gypsy friend had once foretold, but a forgotten wager with her greatest nemesis, American millionaire, Mr. Redstone, is about to bring on complications and…chaos. Will she claim the respectable and dashing duke which was once foretold by the stars? Or will she fall for Mr. Redstone and go against destiny? Only the days leading up to Christmas will tell!

WARNING: THERE ARE A LOT OF GIGGLES, ROMANCE, VOODOO AND MAGIC IN THIS BOX.

My Thoughts: Felicity was a feisty young woman, having been found by relatives after staying at a Foundling orphanage for sixteen years.  She identified herself by her tag number – 95438.  It took real courage to remove it and see what lay beyond the orphanage walls. She had to be strong for how could she have endured knowing her mother had left her there at the orphanage, not wanted all these years?

Her past has shaped who she is.  Her closest and dearest friend, Marigold, is of gypsy descent and tells Felicity to watch herself for a duke is in her future and all is not what it seems for she must choose and choose correctly. For if she doesn’t, they will come for her. Felicity knew the ‘seeing’ of her future was real, for Marigold had foreseen a lot and it all happened.  But why did it have to be so cryptic and misleading?? Fun stuff!  The ghostly world behind Felicity’s world plays a large role in her life and the story.

So, too, her Yankee neighbor, lives by Voodoo magic.  Mr. Redstone still has a bullet lodged in his chest, hit while saving a slave’s life.  He is also the cookiest of personalities, a heart of gold, and has fallen for Felicity.  Literally!  He jumped out a second floor chamber thinking she was in some danger.  Some of his remarks are terribly funny. This one made me laugh. He speaks of Felicity’s uncle’s people.  “We normally don’t talk to that crowd over there.  Ever, actually. Not to offend the company you keep, but their noses are so far up their rears, they’ve ceased smelling anything.”

Felicity decided she should listen to her uncle’s friend, Baroness Arlington.  The baroness was someone with ambition.  An interesting character who plays an important role in Felicity’s life.  Felicity knew she had to remake herself into a lady, so followed whatever the woman told her.  Would this lead her to taking the wrong path?

Delilah Marvelle’s story is earthy and hilariously funny, leaving me smiling. Enjoy at winter holiday or anytime when you need a good laugh, a spicy read and a happy ever after ending!  Marigold has her story in the next sequel.  But we’ll need to wait until next Christmas.  Well worth the wait, I’m sure.

Delilah Marvelle 2In the Author’s Words: Bio data at GoodReads “I spent my youth studying various languages, reading voraciously, and playing the pianoforte. I confess that here ends the extent of my gentle breeding. I was a naughty child who was forever torturing her parents with countless adventures that they did not deem respectable. Confined to my room on many occasions due to these misadventures, I soon discovered the quill and its amazing power.

I scribed endless stories that almost invariably surrounded the topic of love, for I felt an inane need to be rescued from a family that did not understand my lust for life. In my mind, King Arthur became my true love and I waited for the day when he would come riding upon his steed and invite me to sit at his round table, not as his queen, but as his knight. To my distress, King Arthur was never to be found anywhere except for in the tip of my quill. And so I led an imaginary life for many, many years.

When I finally came of age, my family was further horrified to discover that I had fallen in love with an American. An American King Arthur who became my knight, my husband, my all. I have been blessed beyond reason and am grateful for each day I have with him.

What is equally amazing is that I now have the opportunity to share my passion for stories with the public. The reason why I write romance is because it allows me to touch upon the subject of love on a much deeper, more intimate level. Many of the stories I write, many of the stories I will continue to write, will always evolve around love. And yes, gentle readers, it will also evolve around sex as I have no intention of becoming my parents and restraining my characters from what it is they truly desire to do. I challenge you, my readers, to let loose of those corsets that have been strung too tightly due to convention and enjoy 1830 to its fullest.”

For some fun facts about Delilah, check out this link to her website. http://www.delilahmarvelle.com/#!meet-delilah/cte7

 

About eileendandashi

I am a lover of books, both reading and writing. My mission is to encourage people to see the treasures that lie between the pages. I enjoy conversing with authors, fellow bloggers who have anything to do with books and have a particular thrill seeing writers newly published.
This entry was posted in Christmas Story, New Book Release, Paranormal, Paranormal Romance, Romance and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Another Delilah Marvelle special! THE CHRISTMAS WAGER (yep, it even requires hand spitting!!)

  1. carolcork says:

    Eileen, I loved this too but then I love everything Delilah Marvelle writes. I’m just hoping I get to live long enough to read the other nine books on the series. LOL! I’m excited about meeting Delilah this coming September at the Historical Romance Retreat in the USA.

  2. carolcork says:

    I’m not sure but the title of the series suggests that it might be. We will just have to have a large bottle of smelling salts at the ready!!

Leave a Reply

