A Chat with Bestselling, Award-Winning Author Victoria Vane ~ with giveaway


I’m thrilled to have Victoria Vane share her thoughts on some questions I posed her.  I’m so happy to have you here, Victoria.

victoria vaneHi Eileen! Thanks so very much for having me on your blog! 

How does a person who wants to write and publish pick a genre?

The experience is different for everyone but I would say that the genre picks the person rather than the other way around. You should ALWAYS write what you are passionate about and that passion is sure to shine through. The idea for my debut novel (THE HIGHEST STAKES) came to me out of the blue but the storyline combined three of my great passions – history, horses, and love of epic romances. I am still in love with that story and plan to re-edit it and re-release it as a 3-4 book series next year, probably under my current pen name.

(Here’s a three minute television interview I did in 2011 with WHAS in Louisville to discuss that book: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0eTj2AGyWaU )

Interestingly, I never thought I would write contemporary stories as I didn’t think I had the right voice for it, but once I turned back to my own roots (horses again), I found the right voice. Cowboys were something I could easily relate to!

 ***

What reference manuals became your right hand?   

I LOVE my thesaurus and have found “The Emotion Thesaurus helpful upon occasion, often refer to But since my historical romances are mostly set in the 18th century I used the actual people, places, and events. I spent almost two years research my era. I read newspapers, biographies, personal letters and diaries by prominent people stage play and even studied the art and music of the time. I honestly feel as if I lived in Georgian England (reincarnation?)!

rough riderFor my Hot Cowboy Nights contemporary romance series, I also went straight to the source. I made research trips to Montana and Wyoming and spent weeks with real people. I really got a sense for the lifestyle and the struggles of modern day ranchers.

Hotel Rodeo, my new series, evolved out of a trip to Las Vegas. I believe in getting up close and personal with all of my subjects. How can you write characters that are believable if you know nothing about their lives?

 ***

What sort of editing steps did you need to take BEFORE you approached a professional editor?  I’ve heard there are several types of editing processes.

I am both traditionally and indie published. I did not have any professional editing help at all before submitting my first book. I did do a lot of research on query writing and that is what sold my book – a great query letter. Flawed as it may have been, both Sourcebooks and Kensington asked for the full manuscript. I signed a contract with Sourcebooks 6 weeks after finishing the novel. Ironically, I am now working with these same two publishers on my contemporary romances.

As for my Indie books, I have worked with three different editors. It’s very important that the editor is in tune with your particular story. A great historical editor is not necessarily going to do well with a contemporary romance and vice versa.

Additionally, writers all have different editorial needs. I have a very strong sense of “story” and have rarely ever had to make major revisions to any of my books – maybe three times out of twenty-two stories, so in my case I don’t generally look for a lot of developmental help, while less experienced writer might need more assistance in this area. It’s VERY important to understand the difference between developmental and copyediting.  Good development editors are a rare and valuable commodity. They help you to distinguish the forest from the trees!

***

My last question, Victoria.  How did you begin this journey, did you just wake one morning and say I want to be an author?

It was actually pretty close to that! I never intentionally set out to be a writer. I was very analytical in school (my best subject in college was radiation physics!) I didn’t even know I had a creative side and never took any creative writing classes. I really did wake up one day with a story that would not go away- so I started to write it. I finished THE HIGHEST STAKES fourteen months later and then began the query process.  It was published by Sourcebooks April of 2010. I now have 22 published works, to include historical fiction, historical romance, and contemporary romance. I also have many more projects in progress. 2016 is going to be my biggest year ever with ten new releases. Half of these are historical and half are contemporary.

I’m so pleased to have you here, today.  Thank you for taking time out of your heavy writing schedule. It’s exciting to watch an author get their start and just keep rolling!

Treacherous Temptations audioAnd with delight Ms. Vane has graciously provided an audiobook of her 2014 RONE winner TREACHEROUS TEMPTATIONS.  What do you have to do to get your name in the hat?  Comment, that’s it.  Perhaps you have some questions of your own you’d like to pose.

 

 

 

THE DEVIL DEVERE SERIES: victoria vane books
A Wild Night’s Bride #1
The Virgin Huntress #2
The Devil You Know #3
The Devil’s Match #4
A Devil’s Touch #4.5
Jewel of the East #5

 

victoria vane 2About the Author: Victoria Vane is a #1 best selling author of of smart and sexy contemporary Western romance and an award-winning author of erotic historical romance. Her books have received more than twenty awards and nominations to include the 2014 RONE Award for Treacherous Temptations and Library Journal Best E-Book romance of 2012 for The Devil DeVere series. Look for her scorching hot Hotel Rodeo series coming from Kensington/Lyrical Shine early 2016.

Connect with Victoria:
Email: victoria.vane@hotmail.com
Author Web: victoriavane.com
FB: Author Victoria Vane
Author Blog: Embracingromance.com

 

About eileendandashi

I am a lover of books, both reading and writing. My mission is to encourage people to see the treasures that lie between the pages. I enjoy conversing with authors, fellow bloggers who have anything to do with books and have a particular thrill seeing writers newly published.
This entry was posted in Guest Authors, Interviewing authors, On Becoming a Writer, Victorian Romance, Western Romance and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Chat with Bestselling, Award-Winning Author Victoria Vane ~ with giveaway

  1. Karen says:

    Enjoy Victoria historical’s. I always enjoy founding out how a writer makes that jump to becoming an author. Great interview!

  2. Reading about your editing process was interesting. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

