Book Review: Time Travel with Maeve Greyson ~ MY TEMPTING HIGHLANDER


How about starting life with everything against you?  And having to live it for three centuries?  Would you do just about anything to break a curse?  Meet one desperate man, Ronan, illegitimate son, but rightful heir, to the King of Alba.

My Tempting HighlanderTitle:  My Tempting Highlander
Author:
Maeve Greyson
Genre:  Historical Romance
Story Setting:
13th Century Scotland, The Highlands
Pages:
254
Published by: Loveswept
Published Date: February 23, 2016
ASIN: B00Y6QF1PI

Highland Hearts Series: (ecopy purchase link)
My Highland Lover
My Highland Bride
My Tempting Highlander
My Seductive Highlander
(coming October 2016)

 

About the Story: From the author of My Highland Bride—hailed by Sandy Blair as “an entertaining time-travel story packed with spice, humor, fantasy, and nonstop adventure”—comes a sensual novel featuring a wolf-shifting chieftain who travels centuries to modern-day Scotland to tame his one and only.

Cursed to live forever with neither wife nor child, Ronan Sutherland has watched all he cherishes turn to dust—more than once. For hundreds of years, he’s been trapped behind the mists of Loch Ness, hoping to identify the one woman who is prophesied to break the spell. Now, at last, the fates have aligned, and he’s being sent into the future to fetch her. After a single glimpse, Ronan knows he’s been waiting all his life for this passionate woman.   Unlike her time-traveling sisters, Mairi Sinclair is perfectly content to remain in the present. As a hospital nurse in Edinburgh, she cherishes the opportunity to put her gift of healing powers to good use. But everything changes the morning a mysterious wolf darts in front of her car. Touching the wounded creature’s tawny coat, a tingle surges through her. Yet when she returns with aid, Mairi is shocked to find instead a man with broad shoulders and fire in his eyes—a man who tempts her to unleash the animal within.

My Thoughts:  I was delighted to reacquaint myself with Gaeve Greyson’s series, Highland Hearts, with book 3, My Tempting Highlander.  My only regret is I didn’t start the series with book 1, My Highland Lover, so I’ll need to backtrack to catch book 1 before I continue with My Seductive Highlander, soon in the coming.

Mairi Sinclair is one of four sisters blessed by the powers that be to be time runners.  Simply said, they are able to move through time.  Each of the sisters has a special gift besides this phenomenal one of time travel.  (Give me time travel ANY day!)  Mairi is able to heal and is also able to know when someone is lying. But NOT like her sisters, she doesn’t want to return to the 13th century where her granny and two other sisters live.  She loves the 21st century life with all its conveniences.

Granny talks with the twins, (Mairi and Lilia) through the fire portal.  A witch, Eliza, stays with the girls.  She has also been transported to the 21 century and is absolutely enjoying  her life and watches over the girls.  Granny is plenty powerful and difficult to say no to.  She sees it is dire Mairi joins them,  for without her, many people will suffer and die.  But Mairi continues to defy her granny.

Desperate, Granny sends  Ronan Sutherland into the future to convince her to join him in the 13th century.  And since Ronan has so many secrets, he tells half-truths, which to Mairi, is plain lying–a major stumbling block in falling for the guy.  Will her feelings catch up with her body’s desire?

Quite an entertaining and well-written read; it read itself, with no effort on my part! I adore time travel, the meeting of the present with the past.  Speech, mannerisms, way of life, and clothing all change.  But what does not?  The need for love, the completing of the halves to make the whole.  Join author Maeve Greyson with this wonderful series as she delights us with her humor and has us despairing the curse.

MAEVE2014About the Author: (courtesy of her website) When I’m not at my full-time job at the steel mill, I’m tapping away on my laptop, recording my daydreams of sexy Highlanders and the headstrong women who drive them crazy.

I also think of myself as a “watcher”. I live in the middle of a five acre wood in Kentucky, sharing the clearing where our house sits with deer, raccoons, possums, wild turkeys and even a groundhog. Did you know they’re also called whistle pigs? I discovered why when Jasper startled Hamish McGroundhog. Hamish whistled the alarm and startled everybody.

My sweet friend Jasper has crossed over the Rainbow Bridge but I know in my heart he still watches over me. He’s my four-legged guardian angel.

I also enjoy people-watching—you know, kind of floating along the edge of a crowd and observing how folks go about their day. All this watching feeds into my stories so take care, you never know when a writer might be watching.

About eileendandashi

I am a lover of books, both reading and writing. My mission is to encourage people to see the treasures that lie between the pages. I enjoy conversing with authors, fellow bloggers who have anything to do with books and have a particular thrill seeing writers newly published.
This entry was posted in Highland Romance, Highland Stories, Historical Romance, New Book Release, Romance, Time Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

