Audiobook Review: ICE WOLF ~a chilling story to rival any haunted house this Halloween. Beware of a bump in the night, my reader… It may not be just a bump.


A little scary listening for you?  A very enjoyable thriller about a psychologist who’s being stalked!  Happy Halloween!

31433541Title: Ice Wolf
Authors: J.R. Rain, H.P. Mallory
Genre: Urban Fantasy Paranormal
Story Setting: Alaska
Pages: 232
Published by: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Published Date: August 12, 2016
ISBN-10: 1537061429
ISBN-13: 978-1537061429

Narrated by: Valerie Gilbert
Length: 5 hours, 44 minutes

Ice Wolf in ecopy

 

About the Story: From J.R. Rain, the international bestselling author of over sixty novels, and H. P. Mallory, the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author, comes their first co-written book, ICE WOLF!

Ellie Matthews is the new police chief in Hope, Alaska. An experienced homicide detective, she’s running from a past that haunts her. One bullet changed her entire life and set her on a career path that collides with native lore, shape-shifter legends… and wolves.

In ICE WOLF, a hunter stumbles upon a naked body. When Ellie and her deputy retrieve the frozen corpse, he’s got a silver dagger in his chest but no ID. It’s Ellie’s first homicide case in Hope and she aims to solve it. But even stranger things happen and this murder investigation will be anything but routine. Ellie doesn’t want to believe the forensic evidence, but there’s something creepy about the John Doe victim. There’s no way that she’d walk away from this case, but maybe she should run.

The prime suspect is Alex Johnson, a bounty hunter who knows a lot more about shifters than he’s telling. But is he crying wolf? Things could get downright steamy with Ellie’s number-one suspect, who may be her only ally in town. But can this beauty trust a beastly hunk who’s under arrest?

It will take all of Ellie’s homicide investigation experience to track down the killer before the killer finds her first.

“ICE WOLF is funny, thrilling and sexy! It’s a page-turner with spine-tingling suspense, a hot romance and a compelling paranormal mystery. I fell in love with the Alaska setting and the engaging characters. It’s like Joe Leaphorn meets ‘Eureka.’ Loved it. More werewolves, please!” —Eve Paludan, Author of Vampire for Hire: Wolf Moon

My Thoughts: I haven’t read any work from either of these authors, but they certainly put together one nail-biting story.  Narrator Valerie Gilbert, of whom I’ve listened to many of her works, does a fine job with the telling of it. She narrates an assortment of genre.  Check out her list below.

The story is told in first person, in the voice of the new chief of police, Ella Matthews. From the beginning sentences, a body is found, stabbed in the chest, already providing a gripping scene.  Oh, did I mention it is naked? Yep, naked with boots on.

Ella wants to succeed in her new position.  She’s a bit like a fish out of water. She knows nothing about these whereabouts and people aren’t real open.  She’s also worked as a psychologist on the criminal scene, keeping lunies where they belong–behind bars.   She’s smart and feels she can take care of herself.  That is, until…

Alex Johnson, a man from the local Indian tribe, happens to be around when Ella decides to go for a walk to think things out – weird stuff that just can’t be happening.  Is she losing her marbles?  Maybe not, but this walk just about had her lose her life.  Luckily for her, Alex just happens to be there.

Ella questions everything.  Yep, she’s chief of police and things don’t add up.  Heck, Alex, even though he happened to have been there for her, he could have murdered the naked victim found in the snow. She couldn’t seem to control her attraction to him either. Dang! So, distance was the key, but she needed to find out more about the man. She had to man-up and lose those hormonal inclinations.

Ella’s investigation leads to more danger, and apparently, more criminals afoot, who have the same common denominator – getting what they want, or should I say who they want?

If you enjoy scary, werewolves, delusions of lunatics, and narrated in a beguiling way, don’t miss this listen. I enjoyed it very much–it made my night!

*****

About the Author, H.P. Mallory: (courtesy of Goodreads)

I started my writing career as a self-published author and was lucky enough to hit both the Amazon and the Barnes and Noble bestseller’s lists with my two series, the Jolie Wilkins series and the Dulcie O’Neil series. Most recently I hit the New York Times and the USA Today lists with books in the Jolie series.

I signed with Random House (Bantam imprint) to write three books in the Jolie Wilkins series (Witchful Thinking, The Witch is Back and Something Witchy This Way Comes). Now I love the fact that I’m both a traditionally published author as well as a self-published one (with my Dulcie O’Neil series).

I’m a huge fan of anything paranormal and I always have been. I get super excited whenever they have those Twilight Zone Marathon days and anything ghost or vampire related will always attract my attention.

My interests are varied but aside from writing, I’m most excited about traveling. I’m extremely fortunate to have been able to live in England and Scotland, both places really having a profound effect on my books.

Thanks for checking out my books and I hope you enjoy them! Happy Haunting!
H.P.

About the Author, J.R. Rain: (courtesy of Goodreads)

I’m an ex-private investigator now writing full-time in the Pacific Northwest, where I live in a small house on a small island with my small dog, Sadie, who has more energy than Robin Williams.

As a kid I was always making stuff: skates, skateboards, skimboards, skis, sleds, clothing, furniture, wood carvings, Easter baskets, comic books, you name it. I was the mother of all nerds. Anyway, I think I was searching for the one thing I wanted to keep on making for the rest of my life. Then one day I discovered Choose Your Own Adventure books. Remember those? You as the reader were asked to make choices for the characters. Choose Your Own Adventures were a lot of fun and I just had to make my own. And so I did, writing three of them, and I’ve been hooked on writing ever since. (Just think, I could have been hooked on making Easter baskets.)

In high school, I was a fine balance of jock and nerd. I played football and baseball and somehow managed to write five complete novels. So how was I able to write so much and play sports and study at the same time? Easy. No girlfriend. In fact, I didn’t kiss a girl until I was in college!

In college, I still managed to write two books and over 80 short stories. (Even with all the kissing.) Eventually, I graduated with a perfectly useless degree in anthropology, got married two weeks later, and shortly thereafter started my career as an insurance claims investigator. I’ve made better choices.

I would spend the next four years researching and writing my first adventure novel, THE LOST ARK. At the age of 28, I landed one of the biggest agents in Hollywood.

Welcome to Hollyweird. I discovered that I had a natural knack for writing screenplays. (Go figure.) For the next two years I worked exclusively with Paramount Pictures and Alphaville Productions developing various movie and TV projects. Some things worked out; most didn’t. I learned much and I’m thankful for the experience.

Ultimately, I realized I had strayed far from my true love: writing novels (but never very far from my other true love: donuts). And so, with a little bit of money in the bank and some time on my hands (okay, fine, I got fired from my insurance job), I moved to Carlsbad and wrote three books: DARK HORSE, MOON DANCE, and CURSED.

Being married to a dreamer is tough. Being married to a dreamer and a writer is damn near impossible. Yup, you guessed it, after seven tough years my wife was gone, baby, gone.

Not to worry. I eventually met another girl (poor thing), and together we moved up to Seattle. Things turned ugly fast. I lost my job, my car, my money, the girl, went bankrupt, and yet somehow wrote THE MUMMY CASE in a freezing cold basement in the middle of a rainy winter, unemployed and stealing food (usually donuts) from local grocery stores.

Like the prodigal son, I eventually moved back home to southern California, where I got a new job, got my private investigator’s license, got a new movie agent, moved to Hollywood and was fortunate enough to have my first novel published in November 2005 by Mundania Press.

In 2006, I wrote ELVIS HAS NOT LEFT THE BUILDING, and in 2007, I moved up to Oregon where I eventually became a vegetarian (for moral reasons), and wrote the first draft of my ghost story, THE BODY DEPARTED. In 2008, I moved back to southern California to help with my sick father.

Now in 2009, you guessed it, I’m back up in the Pacific Northwest, living on a small island in a small home with my small doggie. It’s a simple, peaceful life…a life filled with writing, hiking, and Beggin’ Strips.

valerie (2)About the Narrator: Valerie Gilbert is a native New Yorker raised a Theosophist. Her dramatic flair has encompassed singing, tap dancing, competing in storytelling gigs, and writing and performing her own solo shows.  This led to the publication of RAVING VIOLET, the first of her three books, with a fourth, BRILLIANCE BREWING, releasing in 2017.  Valerie is an audio book narrator for her own three titles, and for many other authors.

IMDB: http://www.imdb.com/name/nm1875650/?ref_=fn_al_nm_1
Website:   http://valeriegilbert.weebly.com
Blog: http://ravingvioletvalerie.blogspot.com

 

Valerie Gilbert’s Audio Book Discography 

Memoir

Raving Violet by Valerie Gilbert
Memories, Dreams and Deflections: My Odyssey Through Emotional Indigestion by Valerie Gilbert
Swami Soup by Valerie Gilbert
My Life with Bonnie and Clyde by Blanche Caldwell Barrow
Healer: The Pioneer Nutritionist & Prophet Dr. Hazel Parcells in Her Own Words at Age 106
by Joseph Dispenza

Non-Fiction

Glorious Spitfire: A Symbol of Hope in the Dark Days of Conflict by Les Perera
Conspiracy Fact: Human Experimentation in the United States Declassified, Book 1 by Kate Marcello
Conspiracy Fact: MKULTRA and Mind Control in the United States Book 2 by Kate MarcelloIt’s Not Your Fault: True Stories of Abused Women by William H. Joiner Jr.
Year of Yes:  by Shonda Rhimes (A Summary version by Bern Bolo)
Clinton’s Comeback: Hillary Clinton by Bern Bolo
Loneliness: 30 Ways to Cope with Loneliness by Rita Chester
Vegan: The Vegan’s Guide to Thriving and Surviving by Mary Thibodeau
Vegan: Healthy Dump Dinner Recipes on a Budget by Charlotte Moyer
Why He Never Called Back: How Women Can Easily Attract Compatible Men by Chase Gill
Paris: Freebies and Discounts Travel Guide by Sarah Retter
Icons of Fashion by Hilary Brown
So, You Want to Work in Medical Records? By Jane B. Night
6 Questions About Medical Records Answered by Jane B. Night

Fantasy/Sci-Fi

The Time Travel Trailer by Karen Musser Nortman
Rebel Lexis by Paul Alan
Mark of the Mage (The Scribes of Medeisia, Volume 1) by R.K. Ryals
Tempest (The Scribes of Medeisia, Volume 2) by R.K. Ryals
Fist of the Furor (The Scribes of Medeisia, Volume 3) by R.K. Ryals
Dragon Rose (Tales of the Latter Kingdoms) by Christine Pope
Ashes of Roses (Tales of the Latter Kingdoms) by Christine Pope
The Gaia Gambit (The Gaian Consortium Series, Volume 4) by Christine Pope
Embers At Galdrilene: Dragon’s Call Book 1 by A.D. Trosper
Tears of War: Dragon’s Call Book 2 by A.D. Trosper
The Rescue by Rebecca Vickery

Historical Novel

Daughters of the Dragon: A Comfort Woman’s Story by William Andrews
Journey of Hope: A Novel of Triumph and Heartbreak on the Oregon Trail in 1852 by Victoria Murata

Paranormal Romance

Sin City Goddess by Barbra Annino
The Alpha’s Choice (The Wolvers) by Jacqueline Rhoades
Element 63: The TaP Team by L. J. Charles
Shadowlove-Stalkers (Shadow Vampire Series, Book 1) by Claudy Conn
Shadowheart-Slayer (Shadow Vampire Series, Book 2) by Claudy Conn
Shadowlife-Hybrid (Shadow Vampire Series, Book 3) by Claudy Conn
Raven’s Tale: Stained Series Novella by Jessica McBrayer
Stained (Volume 1) by Jessica McBrayer
A Murder of Crows (Stained Series, Book 2) by Jessica McBrayer
Sucking in San Francisco: (Vampires of San Francisco book 1) by Jessica McBrayer
Hell Hounds Are For Suckers (Vampires of San Francisco book 2) by Jessica McBrayer
Sucking Bites  (Vampires of San Francisco book 3) by Jessica McBrayer
Suckers Go To Hell (Vampires of San Francisco book 4) by Jessica McBrayer
Bound by Blood (Cauld Ane Series) by Tracey Jane Jackson
Parts & Wreck (Entangled Covet) by Mark Henry

Regency Romance

Jackal by Heather Gray
Blackmailed Beauty by Ilene Withers
To Release an Earl by Ilene Withers
The Sweetest Kiss (Sons of Worthington Series, Book 1) by Marie Higgins
Oh, Cherry Ripe by Claudy Conn

Cowboy Romance

Carson Hill Ranch Box Set Books 1-3 (Contemporary Cowboy Romance) by Amelia Rose
Carson Hill Ranch Box Set – Books 4-6 (Contemporary Cowboy Romance) by Amelia Rose
Learning to Love Book 1 (Contemporary Cowboy Romance) by Amelia Rose
Searching for Love Carson Hill Ranch Book 2, (Contemporary Cowboy Romance) by Amelia Rose
Counting on Love Carson Hill Ranch Book 3, (Contemporary Cowboy Romance) by Amelia Rose
Fighting for Love Carson Hill Ranch Book 4 (Contemporary Cowboy Romance) by Amelia Rose
Wishing for Love  Carson Hill Ranch Book 5 (Contemporary Cowboy Romance) by Amelia Rose
Dying for Love Carson Hill Ranch Book 6, (Contemporary Cowboy Romance) by Amelia Rose

Traditional Romance

Beyond Doubt by Karice Bolton
No More Wasted Time (The Mathews Family Book 1) by Beverly Preston
Obsessed: A Dark Romance by Terry Towers
Pointe of Breaking by Amy Daws and Sarah Pepper
A Perfect Fit  (The DiCarlo Brides, Volume 1) by Heather Tullis
SEALed With Love  (The DiCarlo Brides, Volume 2) by Heather Tullis
Reclaiming His Bride (The DiCarlo Brides, Volume 3) by Heather Tullis
Family Matters  (The DiCarlo Brides, Volume 4) by Heather Tullis
Wild Hearts (The DiCarlo Brides Volume 5) by Heather Tullis
The Last Bride (The DiCarlo Brides Volume 6) by Heather Tullis
Sticky Notes  (Clean romance, Ethel King series volume 1) by Sherri S. Murray
Zane & Lucky’s First Christmas (Forever Love, #5) by J.S. Cooper

Historical Romance

Shades of Gray by Carol A. Spradling
Brazos Bride (Men of Stone Mountain) by Caroline Clemmons

Romantic Suspense

Banished Threads by Kaylin McFarren
The Deadline by Lorhainne Eckhart
The Price to Love by Lorhainne Eckhart
The Reunion by Lorhainne Eckhart
The Bloodline by Lorhainne Eckhart
If Memory Serves  (Dr. Tara Ross Series, Volume 1) by Tanya Goodwin
Kiss Me Crazy (The Fitzgerald Family) by E.B. Walters
Mine Until Dawn  (The Fitzgerald Family) by E.B. Walters
Forever Hers (The Fitzgerald Family) by E.B. Walters
Dangerous Love (The Fitzgerald Family) by E.B. Walters

Young Adult:

Planet Urth: The Savage Lands (Book 2) by Jennifer and Christopher Martucci

Mystery:

That House on Dakota Street by Rae T. Alexander
That Girl with the Red Hair by Rae T. Alexander

Personal Development

Meditation Made Stupid Simple by Betty Johnson
The Effect ADHD Has On Marriage: Fostering A Strong Relationship
by Terence Williams
A Beginner’s Guide to Masturbation for Women by Jacqueline Donne
Detox Cleanse Starts with the Colon Cleanse: Simple Steps to Colon Cleansing by Mary Edwin
Is Biocentrism Dead? Understanding the Universe and Nature by Raj Bogle
Becoming “Mom”: My Fight Against Infertility by Bianca Clovis
Bianca’s Guide to Raising Twins: Pregnancy by Bianca Clovis
11 Mistakes Couples Make During Deployments by Bianca Clovis
A Little Benedictine Oblate Manual by James Nugent
Without Speech by James Nugent

Rare Gems

The Cottage at Bantry Bay by Hilda Van Stockum (1938, Ireland)

Childrens

How the Dragons Got Their Colors by Cheryl Matthynssens
Not an Egg! by Cheryl Matthynssens

About eileendandashi

I am a lover of books, both reading and writing. My mission is to encourage people to see the treasures that lie between the pages. I enjoy conversing with authors, fellow bloggers who have anything to do with books and have a particular thrill seeing writers newly published.
This entry was posted in Audiobook, Audiobook Review, Book Reviews, New Book Release, Paranormal, Paranormal Romance, Romantic Suspense, Supernatural Suspense, Suspense, Thriller and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Audiobook Review: ICE WOLF ~a chilling story to rival any haunted house this Halloween. Beware of a bump in the night, my reader… It may not be just a bump.

  1. seelkfireice says:

    I just finished this audiobook and enjoyed it. Loved Valerie’s narration.

Leave a Reply

