Audiobook Review: THE MESALLIANCE by Stella Riley ~ endeavor to keep a look of boredom while listening ~ IMPOSSIBLE!


The Mésalliance AudiobookTitle: The Mésalliance Rockliffe Series, Book 2
Author: Stella Riley
Genre: Historical Romance
Story Setting: 1775;
Pages: 304
Published Date: September 24, 2012
Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
ASIN: B009G8SFVI

Narrated by: Alex Wyndham
Length: 9 hours, 59 minutes
Release Date: March 11, 2016
Published by: Stella Riley

Rockliffe Series: 
The Parfit Knight
The Mésalliance
The Player

 

Publisher’s Summary:
The Duke of Rockliffe is 36 years old, head of his house, and responsible for his young sister, Nell. He is, therefore, under some pressure to choose a suitable bride. Whilst accompanying Nell to what he speedily comes to regard as the house-party from hell, he meets Adeline Kendrick – acid-tongued, no more than passably good-looking yet somehow alluring. Worse still, her relatives are quite deplorable – from a spoiled, ill-natured cousin to a sadistic, manipulative uncle. As a prospective bride, therefore, Adeline is out of the question. Until, that is, a bizarre turn of events cause the Duke to throw caution to the wind and make what his world will call a mésalliance.

©2016 Stella Riley (P)2016 Stella Riley

 

My Thoughts: A blogger colleague of mine suggested I read Stella Riley.  I was privileged to win a copy of book two of the Rockcliffe series.  This exciting listening went beyond my expectations and I’m delighted to be introduced to Stella Riley.

Quickly, we are caught up in the times. With the stifling necessity of being polite, Duke of Rockliffe’s tongue is so well laced with sarcasm expressed in a calm, mild tone, one wonders if the sarcasm is real!  Rockliffe’s wit and humor are well-played by narrator Alex Wyndham, always delivered in a sang froid tone.

Rockliffe is creative with his own enjoyment when invited to a house-party accompanying his sister Nell.  She is a handful and must keep her out of her usual mischief.

The ton prize themselves in speaking with complete ennui, particularly, the upper-crust gentlemen.  I certainly didn’t have a drop listening to this lively, spirited story sweeping me into events of the times!

It seems Nell’s best friend Diana is in the market for a groom.  She is a conniving little thing, annoying and eventually becomes quite desperate to catch someone in her first Season. Her eye is on Rockcliffe.

Conversely, her twin, is amiable, mild-mannered, trying to keep Diana from doing too much mischief. She has a softer heart and treats Adeline with more civility.

Adeline Kendrick is a bit like a Cinderella. She is relegated to an upper servant in her aunt’s home, mother to Diana and Althea. Once Rockcliffe catches on about her position in the family, he’s a bit put off by the snobbishness of Lady Franklin and Diana.  He goes out of his way to be nice to her—the story takes off from there.

I love the duke’s fetish of snuff boxes – how they become a focal point in awkward or annoying conversations. I actually snickered during the read.

Narrator Alex Wyndham makes the total experience of this book one of perfection. His timing, tone, pacing and his completely believable performance rates him in my opinion as one go-to narrator.  I’ve listened to his work before with other authors – he’s simply marvelous.

And now I need to back track to read book one of the series.  I highly recommend this author and what I’ve read in reviews, this series.  Her writing style is lively, not heavily laden with description. Her character development are the driving force of the read.

About eileendandashi

I am a lover of books, both reading and writing. 2018 marks the beginning of my own journey from writer to published author. This blog will showcase various authors' thoughts on the elements of novel crafting, and my attempts to find my voice in writing. While journaling this journey, I hope to encourage others to follow their dreams. Book reviews continue as I have the last four years, only making time for my new pursuits.
This entry was posted in Audiobook, Audiobook Review, Regency Romance, Romance, Women's Fiction and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Audiobook Review: THE MESALLIANCE by Stella Riley ~ endeavor to keep a look of boredom while listening ~ IMPOSSIBLE!

  1. Pingback: Audiobook Review: THE MESALLIANCE by Stella Riley ~ endeavor to keep a look of boredom while listening ~ IMPOSSIBLE! |

  2. Thank you so much, Eileen. If you thought Alex did a cracking job in this book, try The Player – he outdoes himself!

    Like

  3. Wendy Loveridge says:

    I totally agree, Eileen, a great review of one of my favourite books. And Stella is right -.listen to THE PLAYER and fall in love with Adrian as well as Rock. Simply superb, both the author’s clever plotting and writing and Alex Wyndham’s professional, intuitive and talented portrayal of it. I remember everything about this story which is always an excellent indicator of how much I’ve enjoyed a story.

    Like

  4. carolcork says:

    Lovely review, Eileen. This was on my list of favourite books/audiobooks for 2016. Stella’s stories are always intelligently written with unforgettable characters and a deeply emotional romance and Alex Wyndham’s brilliant narration brings her stories vividly to life.

    Like

  5. I, undoubtedly, will. Thanks for the super listen.

    Like

  6. If you can remember the story well, the author has made a deep impression. I have Carol to thank with all her lovely reviews about Ms. Riley’s work.

    Like

  7. I certainly can see why, hence my eagerness to listen to it. I’ll be backtracking to read book 1 of the series. I hate to start in the middle of one, much like you, but it happened.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. carolcork says:

    Eileen, I know you will love THE PARFIT KNIGHT and all the other books in this series. Book 4, THE WICKED COUSIN, is now up for pre-order.

    Like

Leave a comment